Infrastructure Services for Open Access

Home » Who we are

Who we are

Current Directors

Lars Bjørnshauge

Lars was Director of Libraries at Lund University from 2001 to 2011 and founded the DOAJ in 2003. He became Managing Editor of DOAJ in January 2013. He has vast experience in: change management; the re-engineering of academic libraries; the development of information services for research & higher education. He has been a strong advocate of open access and for providing services to the open access movement (open access to research publications). He is co-founder of OpenDOAR, the Directory of Open Access Books and Think. Check. Submit. He was Director of SPARC Europe 2011 to 2017 and was on the OASPA Board 2011 to 2019.


Caroline portrait photo

Caroline Sutton

Caroline Sutton is Director of Open Research at Taylor & Francis Group. Before that she was Publisher and Co-Founder of Co-Action Publishing, an open access publisher, where she was heavily involved with business development, marketing and promotion activities. Caroline currently serves as President of the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA). In addition, she serves as Chair of the Advisory Board for OAPEN, and is a member of the SPARC Europe Board. Earlier she served on the Lund University Library Board (2008-2010), and the Advisory Board for Linköping University Press. She is a recognized advocate and expert on Open Access publishing, has acted as Rapporteur for the European Commission, took part in the Budapest Open Access Initiative talks in 2012, and regularly speaks and holds workshops on Open Access publishing.

Caroline holds a PhD in Sociology from Uppsala University, Sweden, an MA from the University of Stockholm, and a BA degree from University California Santa Barbara.

Dominic portrait photoDominic Mitchell

Dominic became director of IS4OA in July 2020. He is the Operations Manager for DOAJ and is a member of the OASPA Board of Directors since 2019. He has worked extensively with the publisher and librarian communities both as a publisher, with the BMJ Publishing Group (UK), and as a senior account and project manager at HighWire Press, then of Stanford University (USA). He represents DOAJ on the Committee for Think. Check. Submit. He is from the United Kingdom but resides in Stockholm, Sweden.


Previous Directors

Alma SwanAlma Swan

Alma Swan is a founder of IS4OA and was a Director until December 2018. [Full biography]

%d bloggers like this: